Breathe. *Breathe*…

Inhale.  Exhale.  Slower.  Think about it…

I’m in the final weeks leading up to my break, and I’m winding up.  Not just winding up my work so that it will be organized / more complete / easier to deal with for the person who is going to steer my workload for me during my absence, but I’m also winding myself up.

I shouldn’t.  Really.

I know I have my stuff mainly arranged – just one more call to make and some money to exchange.  Heck, I even rummaged through boxes and found my Europe plug converter kit and tossed it in my newly liberated suitcase.  Tonight, I picked up the slightly water resistant, new, zip up black fleece hoodie which will be my base layer for “jacket” type needs.  Ireland things are gathering together!  They’re organizing!

But I had to take a couple breaks today at work to just breathe, walk away and get myself a little calmed down.  There are a number of things going on right now that might be the source of this bother, not just trying to get things worked out and beautifully organized so that my replacement can basically peer into my brain and understand my files without me being there…  I’m a recovering perfectionist, and I’m scrutinizing my own files and finding faults and oversights, and that bugs the heck out of me.  Plus there have been difficulties with the files…  Anyway, that’s enough of that.

During one of those breaks, I continued the little bit of tidying / taking down my decorations in my office (my replacement will sit there and they may want a different decor).  One of the pieces of paper I took off of my wall was a reminder that was shared with me by a friend some years ago (the date stamp on it was 2008!)  It was about positive goals, and how focusing on what you really want will bring it to you, but focusing on the negative things you don’t want will also bring them to you.  It was a good reminder for me to keep looking at the positive things and moving towards those.

So tonight, I had a nice, fresh, chickpea salad wrap for dinner.  I did some chores and then put another layer of paint on a canvas I’m working on.  I listened to The Rural Alberta Advantage all evening, and now I’m updating my blog with a bit about me stressing and trying not to stress.  I just had a quick phone conversation with my boyfriend.  And I’m about to turn in.

But not before I share this with you – my boyfriend introduced me to The Rural Alberta Advantage, and I really really enjoy them.  So I am going to share them with you.

The Rural Alberta Advantage – Drain the Blood

Leave a Reply

