Plans

I didn’t go to the yoga studio yesterday, because I didn’t want to.  Instead, I did yoga here, at my house, and then started a ramble with my boyfriend that didn’t turn out quite the way we thought it would.  But it did end up with us spending a few (unplanned) hours with family, including visiting his brother and sister-in-law and nephew (kind of my nephew too :) ) which was wonderful.  Well, except for the part where my boyfriend was the recipient of a vast amount of spit-up.  That was just funny.  ;)

I also bought my roadmap for Ireland yesterday, which is exciting.  And got to speak with a guy from Northern Ireland who gave me some really helpful tips.  I’m going to say thanks to the universe for that particular intervention.

So, I guess I haven’t really laid out in any of my posts so far *what* the plan is for my nine weeks off…

Basically, the nine weeks will be book-ended by two out of three modules of my yoga teacher training. This is something that I’ve wanted to do for a couple of years now, and everything sort of came together in a moment of serendipity earlier this year.  I had been speaking with my current yoga teacher, and she recommended Loren as a wonderful yoga teacher.  So I investigated his program and it does coincide with my interests (restorative, healing yoga for the body and the mind).  I had been looking at other (I’m sure equally wonderful) yoga studios, but there were problems with timing and cost.  This training course was easy to incorporate into the reality of my job (with the help of the leave period I was able to take, and the vacation I will have remaining to be able to finish the third module) and it was more affordable in one lump payment.

In addition to the yoga teacher training, I’m also going to take My Trip.  For the last few years, I have been carrying one week of vacation over each fiscal, in hopes of doing a two-week trip to Ireland.  But since I’ll have nine weeks (well, really seven weeks) of “vacation”, I will take advantage of that to be able to do a two-ish week trip.  Hence my plane ticket to Heathrow.  I won’t elaborate on all the details here, as I want to reveal them as I go.  But basically, for about two weeks in May, I will be touring around the island of Ireland.  I have it all booked and planned, and I am so excited.

During the remaining weeks of my time away from work, I will be painting, taking photos and writing, in hopes of finishing some projects and creating enough paintings to have a show – a goal I set seven years ago and haven’t achieved yet.

So, no lounging on the couch munching on bonbons or sleeping in late – nine weeks of leave is serious business.  But I’m very interested to see how this time affects me and to see what fires are ignited in my travels.  The trip in Ireland will be active and full of exploring.  I fully expect to be bounding out of bed at 6am, ready to rush out onto the beach to capture the misty morning light (but more on that later).

And that’s my plan, thus far.  :)

Leave a Reply

