Yoga, Day 3

I’m not going to lie.  I’m a little bit achey from twice daily yoga for the past three days.  Well, that and sitting on the floor for the rest of the class.  And by the floor, I mean, sitting on my meditation pillow / mat on the floor / extra bolster against the wall / lying on my stomach with the meditation pillow under my ribs to stretch my back the other way… I’m quite fidgety.

But the class itself is great thus far.  I have mentioned out loud my difficulty with the “woo” factor in some of our discussions – having the intellectual baggage of scientific rationalism holding me back from some of the more arcane talk, which is kind of strange since I’m not terribly turned off from mystical things.  I’m working on it.  It might just be the way that it’s being discussed, full of “must” and “cannot”, even though it’s prefaced with “it depends” and “don’t take this as dogma”.

Yoga is a philosophy, not a religion, but it is a philosophy that spends a lot of time talking about the divine and the soul, and the relationships between them.  We’ve been trying to discuss dualism and non-dualism, but he pointed out that you can’t really discuss non-dualism because as soon as you start, you’re automatically discussing it in dualistic terms.  He mentioned in passing that doing a paper on the history of yoga might be a good idea for one of the course assignments, but I might do something on the yoga philosophy instead.  Though I am interested in yoga history.

Everyone in the class – Shining Dancer, Strong Artist and Renard Argent – are all very nice and friendly.  We’re all supportive of one another.  Today we were talking about Ayurveda and discussing our regular “eliminations”.  At this point, Strong Artist quipped, “You said we’d get to know each other very well in this class – I didn’t realize you meant *this* well!”

But it is now Pitta time and I was supposed to go to bed during Kapha time (6:00-10:00pm) to take advantage of the natural slowness of Kapha.  Pitta will give you a second wind (from 10:00pm-2:00am)… and then Vata time (from 2:00-6:00am) is supposed to be a good time to get up and do meditation, because it’s quieter and you have a better connection with the Universe at that point.

I’ll leave on a point that came up in the first day of class, but that has resonated with me so far.  It’s a pretty powerful statement and one that I think could help a lot of people who are identifying themselves as broken or in need of “fixing”.

We are not broken; we are not un-whole.  That perception is based on veils and obstructions of our True Self inside.  The one that is perfect and whole and divine – that perfect being is the True you.  It always has been, and always will be.

Namaste.

One thought on “Yoga, Day 3

  1. Namaste Jen!

    I’m enjoying reading your initial reflections about your teacher training. It’s making me think about my own experience a few years ago and how much things have changed. The learning never ends (until it does, one day)! :-)

    Great reminder about Vata, Pitta, and Kapha time. One night this week I woke up at 3 am and couldn’t get back to sleep. I managed to not be upset about my insomnia and didn’t start thinking “What’s wrong with me? I SHOULD be asleep right now!”, a thought that could cause a lot of stress. I thought about doing yoga or meditating because the energy of the darkness felt so peaceful and tranquil. But I did something else instead: I watched two episodes of Breaking Bad! Not the most yogic of shows, I admit, but I so enjoy the writing and the acting.

    Masha

Leave a Reply

