Catching up

20131002-150713.jpg

The girl and me, hanging out today.

Why? Because I finally fell to the virus that has been circulating. I didn’t think I was too bad this morning, but then I said something to the pup and I shocked myself with my gravelly low voice. So I went back to bed until noon.

Lots of things have been going on lately, which have eaten into my writing time. One of these things is getting an opportunity to work for someone else temporarily, to fill a spot for 6 months. The job is really interesting, and I had a good chat with my boss during lunch yesterday about the things I’m learning in yoga. I’ll develop a whole new circle of contacts (well, mostly new – some folks I know from previous stages, like my Masters).

And my last module of yoga teacher training will happen next week. I hope my voice is okay by then… We had a short anatomy class this past weekend which was very helpful. It was an afternoon and I kind of wish we’d had the whole day for it. But it got me thinking about some of the skeletal issues that I may encounter when teaching. Next week, we’ll be doing our practica and teaching each other some classes. I still need to develop a couple more classes. Homework!

Heading a bit further back in the time since I last posted, the girl pup turned into a Beast and she killed two little rabbits when we were out for a walk last week. Thus I was faced with her true nature as a predator, and I also had to deal with the decidedly-not-fruit of her labour. Luckily, I was able to summon up some of the biological detachment necessary to make sure the poor little things were truly dead, but not so much that it didn’t haunt me for a few days. I do keep a vegetarian lifestyle, after all. But I put the bodies somewhere I hoped that scavengers would find them and profit from them. They are gone from that spot now, so I’ll assume that’s what happened. Meanwhile, the girl Beast has been quite pleased with herself and has been on The Hunt ever since. Rodentia of the city, beware.

Lastly, but not leastly, I had come to a decision in the summer that the girl pup needs to have more time and space than what I am going to be able to give her. It was a difficult decision because I feel like I’m failing her in some respects. But on the other hand, this is not unlike a decision about when “it’s time”. Just that I’m finding her a better place to live, where she can be happy and fulfilled in the way I intended, before life intervened. Last night, we interviewed a family from the country and she really bonded with them right away. She even sat in the daughter’s lap, something she hasn’t done with me in a while. We have found our winner.

So we’re working out the timing and whatnot, but my days with my girl are numbered. I won’t go visit her because I don’t want to confuse her. She needs to consider this family her new pack, and not think of them as temporary until she gets to come home. I think she’ll do well. They seem great.

20131002-154232.jpg

One thought on “Catching up

  1. Sorry to hear that Ani won’t be living with you forever, but kudos to you for realising that she needs a different environment (I’m sure that wouldn’t be the case with many owners)! Hope you feel better soon. – Heather H.

Leave a Reply

