Winter Solstice

Is it just me or did the year speed up in there somewhere?

Happy Winter Solstice! It is the longest night of the year. The sun will be directly overhead at the Tropic of Capricorn at 12:11pm Eastern Standard Time today. Tomorrow, the days will start getting longer as we head back towards summer. Tomorrow morning, the sun will be reborn with the hope of a new spring, although we will still be in the dark half of the year.

There have been so many things I’ve thought to blog about in the last few days, but no time. But not really no time, just I chose to have no time to blog. Because I chose to use my time for other things.  And now all those thoughts have vanished – I really ought to write them down when they occur to me…

I reached out to the lady that coordinates the yoga class at my office building to see if she thought there was enough interest to institute another yoga class with me as the teacher. She said no. *sigh* So I will have to be creative and think of an alternative.

Not that adding another commitment on my lunch hour during the work week would be a good idea right now. My boyfriend warned me against stressing myself out over this, and I take his point. I’m not even doing my fifteen minute meditation breaks on Thursday and Friday anymore because I’ve gotten so busy. I really should rethink this.

But, first things first. I am on vacation because of the Christmas holidays and we’ll be running around to see family this weekend. I’m remaining optimistic that the forecast storm won’t interfere with those plans. And then we’re going to do our own thing for Christmas Eve and Day, which I will be blogging about later, with pictures. Let’s just say, we’ll be able to do a comparison of the differences six months later. ;)

Happy Summer Solstice to the southern hemisphere! Happy Winter Solstice to the North!

Leave a Reply

