Pottery

20140210-230534.jpg
My “skanky” bowl

My friend J invited me to take a pottery class with our friend N and her friend S. I have to admit that I haven’t spent a whole lot of time using clay for any reason, but I’m always up for learning neat new things.

So my first day on the wheel, I threw a skanky bowl. Which was how my teacher described my slightly uneven, lopsided bowl.

Last week, I trimmed the bottom of it, on J’s advice, so that it wouldn’t get too hard and unworkable (since I’m missing this week’s class).

20140210-230934.jpg
On the greenware shelf, drying.

I have also thrown two other things – a vase and… a, um, rustic drinking vessel… Or a lopsided, wonky, closed bottomed cylinder.

20140210-231109.jpg
Not too shabby vase

20140210-231143.jpg
Made even more wonky by a badly done cut across the bottom to get it off the bat, that sheared off a wedge shaped piece.

Definitely an exercise in non-attachment… I have ideas of things to aim for, so we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

