Flighty thoughts

Argh.

I really did have a pretty awesome idea for a blog post, not once, but twice this week. It was the same idea, and I was thankful that it drifted back into my head the day after it occurred to me and then disappeared.

And then it disappeared again.

If it hasn’t been obvious by my lack of posts, I have been quite busy lately. Sometimes I’ve been busy doing things, going places, seeing people. Sometimes, I’ve been busy trying to recover from being busy. Which is why that idea has fled my mind.

We did our annual pilgrimage to Stratford last weekend and saw King Lear, with Colm Feore as King Lear, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream, with a lot of the same actors. King Lear was amazing, and I felt so heartsick at the end of it because it really was such an immense tragedy. Another one of those plays where just a little bit of calm communication would have… well, saved lives. But Colm Feore performed King Lear so absolutely well. I’m sorry if you intended to go and didn’t make it this year – it was so worth it.

The production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream that we watched was not the chamber play (as they put on two productions this season) but the one that was performed on the main theatre stage. In it, they had played with some of the genders of the characters, such that Hermia was refusing a heterosexual marriage to Demetrius in favour of a homosexual marriage to Lysander, who was played by a great woman actor. Also, both Oberon and Titania were played by men, but Titania was still in a dress. The setting was a backyard wedding reception where the wedding guests put on this play in honour of the same-sex couple who had just been married. It was really interesting and I appreciated the creativity and the thought-provoking aspects they brought to the fore. I didn’t enjoy Titania’s performance as much, because at a certain point, it felt a bit too clownish. Oberon did a very good job, and was the only actor who was addressing the wider audience. Also, interestingly, they had one actor who was signing his lines, with a verbal narrator from one of the other actors for the audience’s benefit. It was really quite interesting.

Also, it is October, which is a bit of a shock to the system. Next month is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), whereby you dedicate all your not-working-not-eating-not-sleeping time to writing a novel during the month of November. While I was eagerly planning in years past at around this time, I shan’t be participating this year. If you haven’t tried it, I really recommend it. It’s hard work if you don’t take vacation to do it, but it’s really satisfying to try to pound out a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

More things are coming up, including more pottery classes, an art-business one day conference, and various celebrations. I was just updating my daytimer (yes, I still use a paper calendar…) and I’m a little worried. I sent a picture to my sister of the state of my wall calendar, and I have more things happening this month than days where nothing is planned. Yoga and meditation and breathing will need to happen.

So, because we have passed the Autumn Equinox, and our nights are now longer than days, here is Vivaldi’s Autumn to make us feel good about crisp, autumn breezes, colourful leaves and dressing in layers.

Leave a Reply

